Skip to content

Comment on Discover the new Dropbox menu on your computer

Comments

This looks really cool but I have two concerns:

1. The latest thing shared with me was a photo, and a thumbnail is shown. This photo happened to be nothing significant but what if it was a private photo? Now that photo shows up whenever I want to jump to a recently changed document using the menu (which I do often even before the update).

2. This might be a personal problem: it makes me a little uncomfortable that the program just added this new functionality to itself without asking me. Is it normal for me to feel this way? Or is this how it should be, and I'm just used to all my old programs (MS Office, Adobe etc) asking me for permission before updates? I mean honestly I like this update and I haven't had any dropbox new feature that I didn't immediately love (Except for the automatically ask me to import photos from my iphone feature) but what if they decide to remove a feature in the future... I guess since this is a subscription service I should set my expectations appropriately, that service will change, unlike buying Microsoft Excel for example which will just work and keep the old features until I buy the new version.

Why are these points split?

Anyway, why are you sharing private photos online? Seems like an idiot thing to do irrelevant of dropbox's horrendous track record.

And, yes this is the best method and should be in place everywhere, I always want the latest version of software and I don't want to be annoyed every time some bug fix is released.

For userware the only times silent updates become a problem is where there are significant i/o & bandwidth constraints, or if backwards compatibility is broken.

Per the private photo sharing, I don't think that a poor track record is a great excuse for including another potential security issue. At the very least, there should be an option to disable the preview icons.

I also wish they had include a pause button at the bottom of the menu. It would be unobtrusive and the lack of one makes this seem like more of a downgrade for me.

I would argue that from an engineering standpoint, Dropbox is more secure having been attacked in the past - they've had a review of their company policies, and worked on preventing issues that might crop up in the future.

That being said, an option to disable preview icons doesn't seem like a worthy use of time. After all, if you're signed into your Dropbox account on a PC, you probably have all of the data on that PC from Dropbox. If selective sync is on, an attacker could easily add folders as well. Security by obscurity isn't security.

> Per the private photo sharing, I don't think that a poor track record is a great excuse for including another potential security issue.

I didn't say anything of the sort, I was saying its stupid to put stuff online if you don't want it on the front page of a newspaper.

Disabling thumbnails, while I see it as a pointless feature I don't see it as being very hard to do, perhaps if these porn syncers at work cry out enough, it will be in the next version.

PS: allowing anyone complete access to anyone else's "private" files isn't doesn't constitute a poor track record, its absolutely shoddy as hell and speaks volumes about their likely "fix" and attitude towards security practices in general.

I'm not sharing private photos online but someone else might be sharing those photos with me

Do you go on facebook at work? This is such a non issue.

I don't but I don't use dropbox at work either... I don't think I understand your question.

Another problem is the possibility that someone share with you goatse while you are at work or with your family.

They could also email you a huge image of it, or send you a bit.ly link, or facebook you, or tweet it to you. Sounds like more of a problem with your choice of friends.

Why was this downvoted, honestly concerned / confused, did I offend someone here?

I don't even have the karma necessary to downvote posts :(

AboutSource Built by g1lg1l

Hackerly is an independent reader for Hacker News, built on the public HN API. Not affiliated with Y Combinator.