I would argue that from an engineering standpoint, Dropbox is more secure having been attacked in the past - they've had a review of their company policies, and worked on preventing issues that might crop up in the future.
That being said, an option to disable preview icons doesn't seem like a worthy use of time. After all, if you're signed into your Dropbox account on a PC, you probably have all of the data on that PC from Dropbox. If selective sync is on, an attacker could easily add folders as well. Security by obscurity isn't security.
Comments
I would argue that from an engineering standpoint, Dropbox is more secure having been attacked in the past - they've had a review of their company policies, and worked on preventing issues that might crop up in the future.
That being said, an option to disable preview icons doesn't seem like a worthy use of time. After all, if you're signed into your Dropbox account on a PC, you probably have all of the data on that PC from Dropbox. If selective sync is on, an attacker could easily add folders as well. Security by obscurity isn't security.