Hm, I'm not sure that article applies. That is the process for moving your data from one postgres instance to another, say because you are actually upgrading the postgres version.
But I'm not sure that process applies to changing plans, even under ordinary circumstances, if you are leaving pg version the same.
The wording when I upgraded to 'mini' gave me the impression that I didn't have to do anything else, my existing database would just change it's plan to 'mini' tomorrow, but be the same database.
But I don't exactly trust heroku to get it right anymore, alas. (Which is a bigger problem than the elimination of free plans -- the whole reason I was eager to use heroku, including for paid plans, is because I always did trust them to get it right.)
This is actually just a "hobby" project, that also can be restarted from an empty database if needed (it's http://rubyland.news), so... I guess we'll see what happens tomorrow? I believe my database will persist, just with a new plan.
Yeah, whatever button I pushed to upgrade, it did the opposite. It created a new instance of PG and applied the new plan to it. Meanwhile I had to manually copy the data and shut down the old plan/db.
Update: found it while playing with a new project! There's "upgrade instructions" which guide you through the manual process, and there's an option to "upgrade plan" which just reassigns the existing db. Very intuitive!
p.s. Fun fact, if you spin out a new Heroku app (today, Nov 27th), it defaults to free stuff, and makes you upgrade manually, as opposed to just defaulting all the new stuff to cheap paid plans.
i find heroku support is still pretty good, if you have/want to take the time to message them and ask exactly what to do to do what you want, but it's annoying that it's necessary for standard things that have just become confusing, or to work around documentation failures.
Comments
Hm, I'm not sure that article applies. That is the process for moving your data from one postgres instance to another, say because you are actually upgrading the postgres version.
But I'm not sure that process applies to changing plans, even under ordinary circumstances, if you are leaving pg version the same.
The wording when I upgraded to 'mini' gave me the impression that I didn't have to do anything else, my existing database would just change it's plan to 'mini' tomorrow, but be the same database.
But I don't exactly trust heroku to get it right anymore, alas. (Which is a bigger problem than the elimination of free plans -- the whole reason I was eager to use heroku, including for paid plans, is because I always did trust them to get it right.)
This is actually just a "hobby" project, that also can be restarted from an empty database if needed (it's http://rubyland.news), so... I guess we'll see what happens tomorrow? I believe my database will persist, just with a new plan.
Yeah, whatever button I pushed to upgrade, it did the opposite. It created a new instance of PG and applied the new plan to it. Meanwhile I had to manually copy the data and shut down the old plan/db.
Update: found it while playing with a new project! There's "upgrade instructions" which guide you through the manual process, and there's an option to "upgrade plan" which just reassigns the existing db. Very intuitive!
p.s. Fun fact, if you spin out a new Heroku app (today, Nov 27th), it defaults to free stuff, and makes you upgrade manually, as opposed to just defaulting all the new stuff to cheap paid plans.
wow that is super annoying.
i find heroku support is still pretty good, if you have/want to take the time to message them and ask exactly what to do to do what you want, but it's annoying that it's necessary for standard things that have just become confusing, or to work around documentation failures.