Comment on Ask HN: Anyone know where Mark Pilgrim went?parentComments−ansy14yPG does not typically delete accounts; he just disables the login. All of the comments and submissions are still there under the original name.−irrumator14yThe poor man's HN account delete: change email, change pass to random gibberish, logout.You're free.Until the next account.−cynest14yThat's not necessarily the point. The most important use of a delete account functionality is to protect one's own privacy should you not want to be personally connected to statements you made anonymously.−irrumator14yThat's the great thing about the internet and pseudonyms :)
Comments
PG does not typically delete accounts; he just disables the login. All of the comments and submissions are still there under the original name.
The poor man's HN account delete: change email, change pass to random gibberish, logout.
You're free.
Until the next account.
That's not necessarily the point. The most important use of a delete account functionality is to protect one's own privacy should you not want to be personally connected to statements you made anonymously.
That's the great thing about the internet and pseudonyms :)