Nothing on my work laptop is sacred, work stuff is kept in the cloud or bitbucket/github, personal stuff is on dropbox. I would lose how I've set my dev environment up, but that's about it. I'd just wipe/reinstall.
This is the best answer. Keep personal stuff on your personal system. Don't do anything personal on a work-owned system (or if you do, do it in incognito-mode or something).
Most times, if you're let go, they won't give you the opportunity to wipe your system anyway, they'll just lock you out.
Plus, you know, you don't want to be accused of destroying company property.
Comments
Nothing on my work laptop is sacred, work stuff is kept in the cloud or bitbucket/github, personal stuff is on dropbox. I would lose how I've set my dev environment up, but that's about it. I'd just wipe/reinstall.
This is the best answer. Keep personal stuff on your personal system. Don't do anything personal on a work-owned system (or if you do, do it in incognito-mode or something).
Most times, if you're let go, they won't give you the opportunity to wipe your system anyway, they'll just lock you out.
Plus, you know, you don't want to be accused of destroying company property.