Skip to content

Comment on Chrome Incognito Tracking

Comments

Two misleading things from this post:

- the default when you clear browsing data in Chrome is for just "the past hour", not from "the beginning of time", as is selected in the screenshot in the post (so only any cookies set in the last hour would have been cleared, which would be equivalent to having used incognito mode for the last hour).

This is almost always what you want because a blank history is a dead giveaway that someone was doing something "private" on that browser, and because your wife (in the post's example) is now really annoyed with you because she suddenly has no history url completion and she's been logged out of every site she normally visits.

- that incognito suggestion message only shows up the second time you go to clear data in relatively quick succession, not the first time. The target audience isn't everyone, it's anyone apparently doing a repetitive task that requires browser cache/cookies/history/something to be cleared. At that point incognito mode is a perfect suggestion, as ephemerality is exactly what the user is after.

AboutSource Built by g1lg1l

Hackerly is an independent reader for Hacker News, built on the public HN API. Not affiliated with Y Combinator.