* Our first and immediate update is to ensure that a clean system is provided during creates, regardless of what method was taken for initiating a destroy [...] The scrub feature will remain, allowing customers to take an extra level of precaution if they choose to scrub the data after the delete.
What is a "clean system", if not a scrubbed one? And if they're scrubbing during create, why leave the scrub option in during destroy? I have to assume that when they say "clean system" they don't mean a scrubbed one, and that worries me.
If, as they said, their reason for not scrubbing is because of customers creating and destroying a lot of volumes during the onboarding process, then it seems to me the best solution is one that I believe was suggested in the previous thread. Namely, scrub a volume always whenever it's being used by a new customer. But if the volume is being reused by the same customer, don't bother scrubbing (unless requested), as presumably there are no concerns about leaking information from a user back to the same user.
Comments
* Our first and immediate update is to ensure that a clean system is provided during creates, regardless of what method was taken for initiating a destroy [...] The scrub feature will remain, allowing customers to take an extra level of precaution if they choose to scrub the data after the delete.
What is a "clean system", if not a scrubbed one? And if they're scrubbing during create, why leave the scrub option in during destroy? I have to assume that when they say "clean system" they don't mean a scrubbed one, and that worries me.
If, as they said, their reason for not scrubbing is because of customers creating and destroying a lot of volumes during the onboarding process, then it seems to me the best solution is one that I believe was suggested in the previous thread. Namely, scrub a volume always whenever it's being used by a new customer. But if the volume is being reused by the same customer, don't bother scrubbing (unless requested), as presumably there are no concerns about leaking information from a user back to the same user.