It's too vague. Some of it sounds cool, some of it does not. So I opted out.
I would have made a series of focused opt-in pages that popup in stages over months (less annoying, less confusing) and sell each recommendation function as a cool feature with real benefits, like increased SEO authority, traffic to your Google Plus page, etc.
That said this makes me not want to comment, thumbs-up, plus one anything.
Definitely great to see the box unchecked as default.
I'm not so sure if it's a default setting. I guess it inherits some other settings that Google used to have earlier. I have always allowed Google to use info from me, as they pleased. So, when I visted the link, it was checked for me.
Mind was unchecked as well. A little confusing seeing the headline and then it looking like I had already opted-out somehow. Made me wonder if it was one of those double-negative check boxes for toolbar installations.
Comments
This is exactly how opt-out pages should work.
I understand it took some bad publicity before it happened, but I commend Google for correcting their mistake and making it easy to disable.
Agreed. It's nice to see an opt out page that isn't asking me if I'm sure that I don't not want to opt in to not being used as a not ad.
It's too vague. Some of it sounds cool, some of it does not. So I opted out.
I would have made a series of focused opt-in pages that popup in stages over months (less annoying, less confusing) and sell each recommendation function as a cool feature with real benefits, like increased SEO authority, traffic to your Google Plus page, etc.
That said this makes me not want to comment, thumbs-up, plus one anything.
I agree. It was so backward from what I would expect. Definitely great to see the box unchecked as default.
I'm not so sure if it's a default setting. I guess it inherits some other settings that Google used to have earlier. I have always allowed Google to use info from me, as they pleased. So, when I visted the link, it was checked for me.
Mind was unchecked as well. A little confusing seeing the headline and then it looking like I had already opted-out somehow. Made me wonder if it was one of those double-negative check boxes for toolbar installations.