Skip to content

Comment on Today I Deleted My LinkedIn Account; You Probably Should Tooparent

Comments

I deleted my account a couple years ago. I used to always get emails from people who were inviting me to join. The emails were from invitations@linkedin.com but contained the name of the person in the subject. The message also contained text that looked like it was from the person:

On March 14, Person X wrote:

To: bhelx [bhelx@example.com] > From: Person X [personx@example.com] > Subject: Invitation to connect on LinkedIn
bhelx, > > I'd like to add you to my professional network on LinkedIn. > > - PersonX

The worst thing is I would get follow up emails "Reminder about your invitation from Person X" pretty regularly. I would unsubscribe using the link at the bottom of the email but I found that it was only unsubscribing me from receiving the follow up "reminder" emails from each person I unsubscribed from. It was really frustrating. I assume Linked In was explicitly requesting permission to do this.

AboutSource Built by g1lg1l

Hackerly is an independent reader for Hacker News, built on the public HN API. Not affiliated with Y Combinator.