Skip to content

Comment on Spotify and Facebook: Is that phishing?parent

Comments

Here's the tricky part: they do ask for permission to post on your behalf when you open the app. It's pretty muted, at the bottom of a popup, and dwarfed by a larger, more colorful call to action.

Here's a screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/oWDstiC.png

It's also not entirely obvious to me what happens in every case. If I close the popup, does it still count as my giving consent? If I close the app? My guess is that most people skim over the copy and click the big blue button, totally disregarding the checkbox down there.

Well spotted. But a user who'd disabled/cancelled/deactivated their FB account would assume that action was moot rather than that Spotify were going to illegally access a secondary service posing as you in order to enable that activity.

AboutSource Built by g1lg1l

Hackerly is an independent reader for Hacker News, built on the public HN API. Not affiliated with Y Combinator.