This is futile, since they can keep previous versions of your data. In fact, this is stated explicitly in Facebook's privacy policy:
"When you update information, we usually keep a backup copy of the prior version for a reasonable period of time to enable reversion to the prior version of that information."
"This is futile, since they can keep previous versions of your data."
They could assume that any changes made to data just prior to canceling an account are suspect. So wait. Or don't ever cancel, just stop using the service.
Comments
"Even if you 'resign', they still have your data."
Before you leave, poison your data.
This is futile, since they can keep previous versions of your data. In fact, this is stated explicitly in Facebook's privacy policy:
"When you update information, we usually keep a backup copy of the prior version for a reasonable period of time to enable reversion to the prior version of that information."
"This is futile, since they can keep previous versions of your data."
They could assume that any changes made to data just prior to canceling an account are suspect. So wait. Or don't ever cancel, just stop using the service.
So change it every week for a month... and then stop using it.