Skip to content

Comment on Ask HN: Why does Google word privacy settings like you agree even when off?

Comments

I can't see what you're talking about. In my account, in the General tab of Gmail settings on the web, under "Manage Workspace smart feature settings", I see a toggle for "Smart features in Google Workspace", followed by this paragraph:

When you turn this setting on, you agree to let Google Workspace use your Workspace content and activity to personalize your experience across Workspace. Workspace includes apps for businesses and schools, such as Gmail, Chat, Meet, Drive, and more. To learn more, visit the Workspace website. Smart features include:

The setting for the listed features is above the "you agree to let Google Workspace use your Workspace content and activity to personalize your experience across Workspace" intro, not below. The setting below is for features in non-Workspace services.

So this appeared in a popup upon login. I could either select on or off and click next or stop using the site.

AboutSource Built by g1lg1l

Hackerly is an independent reader for Hacker News, built on the public HN API. Not affiliated with Y Combinator.