Skip to content

Comment on BlockTube, a YouTube Content Blockerparent

Comments

What do you mean by lose data?

When you load a page it makes a copy of the current block list in memory for that page and when another page updates the database it does so by writing the modified copy to the extension which stores it in the extension's local storage.

If an a page was loaded in the past, and you have since interacted with the extension via another tab, interacting with that page will revert the block list to what it was when that page was loaded. Losing the updates which have been done since.

AboutSource Built by g1lg1l

Hackerly is an independent reader for Hacker News, built on the public HN API. Not affiliated with Y Combinator.