Skip to content

Comment on Which Telecoms Store Your Data the Longest? Secret Memo Tells Allparent

Comments

There are two kinds of deletions. The SQL DELETE command, and the boolean `deleted` field. Facebook is reported to use the latter.

I don't know what to say. But I believe they are up to something much bigger than just using the data for ads.

A guy who said he worked at Facebook posted a comment on HN a couple days ago claiming that data is actually deleted from disk when you delete your account (after the ~14 day waiting period for account deletion), and I think it seemed like he was implying that this may have been the ONLY time data is actually deleted rather than simply being marked deleted. Maybe someone has a link to the actual comment/context...

I personally know this to be false. Over 2 years ago, I deleted my facebook account. Approximately 6 months later, I accidentally got auto logged in by LastPass when I clicked a link and ended up on the FB login page. It simply welcomed me back with all my data intact.

I'm quite sure that I went through the deletion process, then waited far more than the "14 day" requirement.

AboutSource Built by g1lg1l

Hackerly is an independent reader for Hacker News, built on the public HN API. Not affiliated with Y Combinator.