Skip to content

Comment on Who Does Facebook Think You Are Searching For?parent

Comments

I often hand my laptop or iPad to my wife so that she can look at something/use it for a few minutes while sat on the sofa (her computer is a desktop in the other room).

I normally don't bother logging out of whatever sites I'm logged in to.

I'm not too bothered what she sees if she opens up the Facebook tab with me logged in - but I can see that it may be a problem for some.

And I don't think that "hand it over for five minutes to check something" is that uncommon a use-case.

"I normally don't bother logging out of whatever sites I'm logged in to.

I'm not too bothered what she sees if she opens up the Facebook tab with me logged in - but I can see that it may be a problem for some."

That's the crux of it - you're not bothered by it. If you were bothered, surely you'd hit the 'log out' button?

Yes and no ...

"here - look at this interesting article on Wikipedia" ... she starts reading ... ... I get bored and go to make cup of tea, forgetting that I hadn't logged out of Facebook ... ... she finishes article, closes tab and finds herself on my Facebook page ...

It is my fault, but a "clear history" (or at least make my history invisible) function would mean that mistakes like the above will have much less impact

AboutSource Built by g1lg1l

Hackerly is an independent reader for Hacker News, built on the public HN API. Not affiliated with Y Combinator.