Skip to content

Comment on Google is quietly testing Google+ for Domainsparent

Comments

  > In the case of (1) the biggest issue I see is when people from an organization leave. 
  > [...] when deleting a Google Apps account all of the user's shared docs, 
  > calendars, emails, etc. are deleted. 
Wow, that's shocking. I've only ever used GApps for (2), but I just kind of assumed that deleting a user didn't also auto-delete their data in the organization's GApps account.
  > For my personal domain I do want Google Apps features to have parity with GMail. 
  > It's not that I don't understand the difference. It's that I don't want to split 
  > my information between multiple online identities.
Perhaps I was being overly simplistic. Presumably folks that set up their own GApps account for their domain understand that they're setting up a different kind of Google account. The disparity is always jarring, though, esp. in the case of Google Plus.

It looks like Google has improved deleting users since the last time I had to do it. That's a relief! They've been improving Google Apps a lot in the past year.

http://www.google.com/support/a/bin/answer.py?answer=33314

"Shared documents created by the user will be deleted within five days unless ownership is reassigned. You can reassign ownership of all documents created by the user before deleting the account. If you only need to save some documents, spreadsheets, or presentations, ask the user to reassign ownership of selected documents prior to deleting the account."

Shared calendars aren't deleted. Email seems to be unless steps are taken to export the data prior to account deletion, etc. etc.

It'll be interesting to see their take on Google+ content.

AboutSource Built by g1lg1l

Hackerly is an independent reader for Hacker News, built on the public HN API. Not affiliated with Y Combinator.