Honest question: is it better to delete the account or leave it as a placeholder to prevent the name being taken by someone else? I have an ancient yahoo address that gets a lot of spam and a few newsletters, but I'm 99% sure that there are some website credentials out there that still use the address and dozens of contacts who still have it their address book.
I started to (try to) delete the account several times and always hesitated out of fear. And when I ask myself "what's the harm in leaving it there?" I can't really come up with a good answer.
Also interesting aside, Yahoo/Oath nag me every couple weeks to agree to the new Verizon draconian privacy forfeiture terms. I wonder if they'll eventually block logins and cutoff email forwarding if I never click through. My cynical hunch is that they'll equate logins with consent after updating the TOS to explain this.
It is risk averse to keep it and functionally useless. Yahoo recycles unused handlrs after a timeout of a few years and scammers find these and still all accounts associated with them.
Usecase: friend dies, years later some turkey kid stole his facebook bv his login was yahoo email based and BOOM has access to a lot of social media data.
Comments
Honest question: is it better to delete the account or leave it as a placeholder to prevent the name being taken by someone else? I have an ancient yahoo address that gets a lot of spam and a few newsletters, but I'm 99% sure that there are some website credentials out there that still use the address and dozens of contacts who still have it their address book.
I started to (try to) delete the account several times and always hesitated out of fear. And when I ask myself "what's the harm in leaving it there?" I can't really come up with a good answer.
Also interesting aside, Yahoo/Oath nag me every couple weeks to agree to the new Verizon draconian privacy forfeiture terms. I wonder if they'll eventually block logins and cutoff email forwarding if I never click through. My cynical hunch is that they'll equate logins with consent after updating the TOS to explain this.
It is risk averse to keep it and functionally useless. Yahoo recycles unused handlrs after a timeout of a few years and scammers find these and still all accounts associated with them.
Usecase: friend dies, years later some turkey kid stole his facebook bv his login was yahoo email based and BOOM has access to a lot of social media data.