Skip to content

Comment on Backblaze Announces B2 Compute Partnershipsparent

Comments

and there's ways to make Cloud Sync work as a one-way street

Sadly it still means if the source gets corrupted for whatever reason the backup is done, for business files sync is really not backup (I don't think I'm teaching you anything there, but really this sadly doesn't fit my needs at all). Also Hyper Vault is all about the intelligent versionning.

While it's possible to trick it by doing the backup somewhere and then syncing THAT to B2 (and I do it for my personnal NAS), it's too much of a hassle and "complex" setup that I can't see myself pushing that to my customers.

OVH managed to get them to add HubiC in there so clearly there is a way. Hope you will keep pushing them until they move on it ! And thanks for making such a great product :)

I'm using Cloud Sync to backup a Synology to B2. Have you considered btrfs snapshots? I use them because I'm backing up a lot of sparsebundles and I had the same thought as you: if they get corrupted and then automatically back up... then I'm in trouble.

Anyway, snapshots give me what I'm looking for re: versioning.

OVH managed to get them to add HubiC in there so clearly there is a way. Hope you will keep pushing them until they move on it ! And thanks for making such a great product :)

They know we'd like it in there, think that OVH was there before C2 was ready so they are "grandfathered in". Best way to let them know you want it is to add your voice to the thread!

for business files sync is really not backup

With versioning it is.

It really isn't. Maybe I'm mistaken and then I'm listening to how you do it ?

The purpose of file syncing and backuping is very different, one is ensuring that a change on the source is replicated to the destination and is kept up to date on changes, the other is taking a snapshot frozen in time no matter what happens on the source.

If you have a file version, it's frozen in time. So if you have syncing with file versions you can rollback files individually.

I don't think I was clear enough: with a two way sync, if a disgruntled employee / script failure / any other thing destroys the file version 1.0, it gets uploaded and replace the old file version 1.0

Backup is not just about having a copy, it's having a copy that stops being kept in sync with the original after it is made.

The version (in S3) is a hash of the data so if you remove your local version and replace it then you won't be tricked into thinking version 1.0 is the wrong thing (unless someone brute forces a new file with the same hash).

There is also a concept of Write Once Read Many in storage which is used for compliance. So you can use sync with WORM and it's basically append only.

AboutSource Built by g1lg1l

Hackerly is an independent reader for Hacker News, built on the public HN API. Not affiliated with Y Combinator.