As a third party to this debacle, all I have to go on is the comments people have made, but a few of them have asserted that that language was added later on and some initial versions of this change either outright lacked that warning, or else used styling tricks to make it difficult to notice. I lack the time and/or motivation to go digging through the commit history for that plugin, but maybe someone more enterprising could do so and verify if that warning was always present and presented in such a visible fashion.
It's been in there for quite some time, and there have been a variety of commits that carried some variation of the same "we analyze your code in the cloud" message:
Their entire permissions messaging is encapsulated in the user connecting the presence of the word "enable" in both the description and on the button. That's it.
Comments
The image they show in the post shows that they were fairly clearly saying "Where enabled, your code is sent to our cloud":
https://kite.com/static/media/autocomplete-python-flow.690d3...
Sure, it is not exactly hilighted there, but I wouldn't say that they were trying to hide that either.
As a third party to this debacle, all I have to go on is the comments people have made, but a few of them have asserted that that language was added later on and some initial versions of this change either outright lacked that warning, or else used styling tricks to make it difficult to notice. I lack the time and/or motivation to go digging through the commit history for that plugin, but maybe someone more enterprising could do so and verify if that warning was always present and presented in such a visible fashion.
It's been in there for quite some time, and there have been a variety of commits that carried some variation of the same "we analyze your code in the cloud" message:
https://github.com/kiteco/kite-installer/commit/c52c5daa672c...
Taking over the minmap autocompletion projects and adding these features still feels a bit sleazy, but the installer was honest about how it worked.
Their entire permissions messaging is encapsulated in the user connecting the presence of the word "enable" in both the description and on the button. That's it.