Skip to content

Comment on Ask HN: How do you manage your photo library?parent

Comments

If "Synced to Dropbox" is all you do you may be only one inadvertent mouse drag or clip command away from deleting some photos.

Yes, you can recover deleted files in Dropbox but to do that, you must know you deleted something, and then, what you deleted, or you must periodically check for deletions in the Dropbox UI.

Also, Dropbox probably will happily sync files that were written with bit errors on your hard disk.

Acceptable risk? I think so, but it means accepting some decent risk of losing photos.

My point is that many people likely would be happier if they spent, say, two evenings a year watching past photos together with their loved ones than when they spend that time making (more) sure their collection stays perfect (and at thousands of photos a year, two evenings is _nothing_ if you want to make sure your archive is bit-for-bit safely stored and properly indexed so that it is reasonably easy to find photos on demand)

Maybe, but I doubt this is an issue. When is the last time you accidentally deleted a file like this without knowing?

I have accidentally deleted files before and if it is a significant amount (e.g. if I try to do bulk processing on some) Dropbox notifies you by email.

I could easily duplicate my folder, or even triplicate it to minimise hard disk errors and not be near my Dropbox limit. However I poke around at pictures quite a lot and I don't think I've seen issues like this so I don't mind it.

(I think they are also synced to Google Photos now that I think about it).

AboutSource Built by g1lg1l

Hackerly is an independent reader for Hacker News, built on the public HN API. Not affiliated with Y Combinator.