They upgraded "Pro" accounts to "Advanced" accounts without cost changes for ~1 year. After that you will have to pay $4.25 more per month for the "Standard" plan in order to keep MFA.
"To give you the most powerful admin control and security features, we’ve upgraded you to Advanced at no extra charge. You’ll keep your original pricing until January 6, 2018. After that, your account will adopt our new storage plans and pricing. If you want to downgrade to Standard, you’ll have until January 6, 2018 to do so."
You're conflating a few different plans here -- "Standard" and "Advanced" are for teams only (minimum of 5 people). The only paid plan available for individuals is "Pro", which no longer offers TFA.
Hmm, I have no idea then. I just renewed my $99 personal account a few weeks ago. Not a business account from what I can tell. Invoice: http://imgur.com/eUpsaem
My account still shows Pro, not Advanced. Also, why didn't I get any emails from DB about this? Maybe they are rolling things out gradually and my account is not affected yet.
Comments
Wow this is shocking. A big step back for user security. Even a paid Pro account for individuals does not include 2FA?!
I just checked and my Pro account for Individuals still shows 2FA "enabled" so this page is confusing.
They upgraded "Pro" accounts to "Advanced" accounts without cost changes for ~1 year. After that you will have to pay $4.25 more per month for the "Standard" plan in order to keep MFA.
"To give you the most powerful admin control and security features, we’ve upgraded you to Advanced at no extra charge. You’ll keep your original pricing until January 6, 2018. After that, your account will adopt our new storage plans and pricing. If you want to downgrade to Standard, you’ll have until January 6, 2018 to do so."
You're conflating a few different plans here -- "Standard" and "Advanced" are for teams only (minimum of 5 people). The only paid plan available for individuals is "Pro", which no longer offers TFA.
Yeah, but thats what their message tells me...
http://imgur.com/a/O8B1q
[Edit: fixed link]
Looks like you were already on the business account, not an individual account, which is what we are discussing.
Hmm, I have no idea then. I just renewed my $99 personal account a few weeks ago. Not a business account from what I can tell. Invoice: http://imgur.com/eUpsaem
My account still shows Pro, not Advanced. Also, why didn't I get any emails from DB about this? Maybe they are rolling things out gradually and my account is not affected yet.