Skip to content

Comment on Beware: Nylas cloud email retains all emails after account deletion

Comments

Hi Patrick-- I work at Nylas and thought I'd drop a comment here too.

We did get your emails and queued your account for deletion but our logs indicate you kept signing-in again and again, which removes your account from the deletion queue.

Depending on your account provider, you can also revoke the Google Apps oAuth token or change your provider's mail password.

We also deactive inactive accounts about ever 3 months, though that is on a slower rolling basis.

Going forward the best option is to use the new deletion tool at https://billing.nylas.com/login

Sorry for this frustrating. Because a mail system inherently deals with a lot of data (often millions of objects) deleting them all safely is not a synchronous operation.

If you'd like to read a bit more about the security of your system, you can check out https://nylas.com/security

And of course, if you want to keep using Nylas N1 without our managed cloud sync, you can always run the open source sync engine yourself. More on that here: https://github.com/nylas/N1/blob/master/CONFIGURATION.md

AboutSource Built by g1lg1l

Hackerly is an independent reader for Hacker News, built on the public HN API. Not affiliated with Y Combinator.