Skip to content

Dropbox changing policy: Now threatening to delete files over storage limit

3 pointshuksleydiscuss
On HN

Dropbox previously had a policy where if you downgraded from a paid plan to free, files over the 2GB free tier limit would be kept but simply stop syncing. This allowed me to have access to the copy of older files and backups.

I just received an email stating: “

This is a reminder that your account is currently over its storage limit.

If you don't take action by January 30, 2026 your files will be deleted.

What you can do:

- Choose a plan that suits your storage needs—starting at 2,000 GB. - Log in and delete files to free up space.

What happens if you do nothing: If your storage is still over the limit on January 30, 2026, we’ll take steps to bring your account within the limit. This includes deleting files and leaving shared folders.

Comments

No comments yet.

AboutSource Built by g1lg1l

Hackerly is an independent reader for Hacker News, built on the public HN API. Not affiliated with Y Combinator.