Skip to content

Pictures from an unshared note can leak into shared notes on iOS

15 pointsrelbeek26 comments
On HN

I recently discovered that if you add large videos or many images to a note in iOS 17, and delete that note before all images are attached to the note, the images get attached to the next note in the list, even if its a shared note.

I reached out to Apple thinking this could be a privacy concern and was told that it was a UI bug not a privacy concern, do you agree?

Comments

This kind of pretty sloppiness is exactly why I avoid their defaults like the plague. Tell me you're being irresponsible with your position of power without telling me you're being irresponsible with your position of power. Sigh

No I don’t agree. That is outrageous.

Absolutely a privacy concern

That is what I also thought; I submitted it a second time, and it was rejected again. I even showed them a video of the process.

Can you reproduce it when the next note is shared?

Yes and verified that the person the note is shared with gets it on their phone. So it’s not even just a ui bug

AboutSource Built by g1lg1l

Hackerly is an independent reader for Hacker News, built on the public HN API. Not affiliated with Y Combinator.